PTAC HOWARD COUNTY GENERAL MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, June 5, 2023

Board Members present:
Srini Gorantla, President
Terri Marcus, Vice President of Issues
Angela Shiplet, Secretary
April Riche, Treasurer
Brent Loveless, Legislative Committee Chair
Lisa Loveless, OBRC Committee Chair

- I. Call to Order Meeting was called to order at 7:30; quorum was established
- **II. Presentation of PTACHC scholarships and Reflections Winners -** the delegation honored the winners of the PTACHC Scholarships and Reflections.
 - A. PTACHC Scholarship Recipients
 - 1. Goedeke Scholarship for Trade, Technical Education, or Community College- Lucas Lefever, HCC, \$500
 - 2. Teacher Education
 - a. Makenna Fairbrother, UMBC, \$1,000
 - b. Natalie Wheeler, Loyola, \$1,000
 - 3. Charles Ecker Scholarship for Community Service
 - a. Molly Xu, University of Maryland, \$500
 - b. Susan Kuhn, University of Delaware, \$500
 - 4. Academic Scholarships
 - a. Arthur Wang, Brown, \$1,000
 - b. Emeline DeGuilio, Brigham Young or University of Maryland, \$1,000
 - c. Angelina Zhou, University of Maryland, \$1,000
 - **B.** Reflections Winners
 - 1. Ian Heir, Film Production, Pointers Run Elementary
 - 2. James Pang, Visual Arts, Clarksville Elementary
- III. Approval of minutes from the May 1st meeting the minutes were approved.
- **IV. Guest Speaker** Yousef Ahmad, the Senior Advisor for Education Policy and Performance in the County Executive's office introduced himself to the delegates and took questions. Questions focused on the budget, the budgeting process, and the upcoming general plan.

V. Committee updates

- A. After prom committee Caroline Bodziak gave an update from the After Prom committee. She provided information about what the committee does and this year's After Prom functions. Beth Anna Varson is interested in taking over as committee chair.
- B. School Safety Committee Lisa Krausz and Beth Anna Varson provided an update on the deliverables from the School Safety committee. If delegates have questions or feedback, Lisa can be reached at Lisakrausz@comcast.net, Beth Anna can be reached at bethanna_varson@verizon.net
- VI. Affiliate Organization reports Ying Matties provided a report from CARY.
- **VII. Board of Education Report** Dr. Linfeng Chen provided a report from the Board of Education. The budget was passed at the last board meeting. This budget is a 7% increase from last year's budget. Graduations have recently wrapped up. The Board also recently confirmed the new Student Member of

the Board and approved the Student Code of Conduct. Dr. Chen took questions from the delegation. He was asked about when final bell times would be released and the upcoming transportation changes.

VIII. Superintendent's Report - James LeMon provided the Superintendent's report. The deadline for the transportation survey will be extended to 6/15. The Mental Health Community Advisory Council is looking for new members.

- **IX. Treasurer's Report** April Riche presented the Treasurer's report. There is \$16,377 in the account. Some penalties had to be paid for late filings of the quarterly taxes. Two schools have not yet paid their membership dues.
- X. Legislative Report Brent Loveless provided <u>a Legislative report</u>. Brent Loveless motioned that: PTACHC recommends that all residential density enrollment increasing provisions, exemptions, and incentives in the HOCO BY DESIGN General Plan are required to have in place concurrent adequate educational infrastructure.
 - A) Factoring in both collective countywide impact and
 - B) Capacity adequacy of local attendance areas without reductions of standards.

 The motion was seconded and passed (33 yeas; no objections or abstentions).
- XI. Nominating Committee Report and Elections Glenda Hernandez-Tittle presented the nominating committee report. The committee has nominated Terri Marcus for President, Angela Shiplet for Treasurer, Laurie Ramey for Treasurer, and Hiruy Hadgu for Vice President of Operations. For all contested positions a paper ballot was distributed to all eligible voters. Paper ballots were calculated by Sarah Rehling and monitored by two delegates not up for election.
 - A. President- there were no nominations from the floor. Terri Marcus was elected president.
 - B. Executive Vice President- Karina Fischer and Ingrid Headlam were nominated from the floor.
 - A vote by paper ballot was conducted, Karina Fisher was elected Executive Vice President.
 - C. Vice President of Issues- April Riche and Glenda Hernandez-Tittle were nominated from the floor. A vote by paper ballot was conducted, Glenda Hernandez-Tittle was elected Vice President of Issues.
 - D. Secretary- there were no nominations from the floor. Angela Shiplet was elected Secretary.
 - E. Treasurer- there were no nominations from the floor. Laurie Ramey was elected Treasurer.
- XII. Adjournment- the meeting was adjourned.